

## Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe Election board

Hope Wheelock, C Frances Jacobs-Phelix, VC Kyrie Ransom Rudy Hart Ganehtata Davey Deborah Terrance, Alternate Elizabeth McDonald, Alternate

## **ELECTION PROCEDURES FOR 2021 ELECTION**

The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe Election Board ("Election Board") held a duly constituted meeting on Enniskó:wa | March 22, 2021 to update the procedures surrounding the Election As the Tribe is still under a State of Emergency (TCR 2020-17), it sought recommendations from the Emergency Operations Center ("EOC") regarding the upcoming caucus and election. The Election Board has decided to update its special procedures to conduct caucus and election. The EOC shall be approving separate safety protocols to protect the voters, Election Board Members and staff.

**WHEREAS**, pursuant to Section III.A—General Provisions of the Election and Referendum Ordinance (TCR 2019-03), the Election Board has determined to conduct this year's annual Election on Ohiarí:ha | June 5, 2021.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** the Saint Regis Mohawk Election Board adopts the following Special Election Procedures for the 2021 Election:

- 1. Under Section II.E—Definition of Polling Area is changed to the following: Polling Area means the former IGA building and adjacent parking lots, or any other area designated as such by the Election Board. The remaining definitions of Section II of TCR 2019-03 remain the same.
- 2. Under Section VIII.A and E—Absentee Voting of TCR 2019-03 the following shall apply:
  - a. Any eligible voter may contact the Tribal Clerk's office to obtain an "Absentee Ballot Application" from Monday, May 3 until May 26; and
  - b. The eligible voter shall affirm to his/her identity on the Absentee Ballot Application; and
  - c. In-home voting shall only be available for eligible voters who are physically unable to request an Absentee Ballot Application or vote in-person and reside on the Saint Regis Mohawk Reservation, as defined by the 1796 Treaty.

The remaining procedures of Section VIII remain the same including the remaining procedures of Section VIII.A and E of TCR 2019-03.

3. Under Section IX—Caucus of TCR 2019-03, it shall be held Saturday, May 1 at the former IGA Building and streamed live via Facebook. No observers shall be allowed. The remaining caucus procedures of TCR 2019-03 Section IX remain the same.

4. Unless otherwise modified herein, the remaining procedures and timelines of the Election and Referendum Ordinance (TCR 2019-03) remain the same.

Approved on this 20<sup>th</sup> date of April2021

## THE SAINT REGIS MOHAWK TRIBAL ELECTION BOARD

Hope Wheelock Chairwoman

rances Frances Jacobs-Phelix Vice-Chairwoman

Kyrie Ransom Board Member

Ganehtata Davey Board Member

Puch

Rivdy Hart Board Member